Saving Money One Step At A Time: College Style

Photo by Associated Press

-Photo by Associated Press

The title says it all: You get to college and suddenly the bank account that was once filled from summer paychecks is now gone. I feel like its magic by how quickly it vanishes. After contemplating what happened to all the money, you may ask yourself what on earth you have possibly spent money on every week, and if you should stop.

Most of the time that answer is ‘yes’, but actions speak a lot louder than words. I’m on the boat with this one, and it is not fun.

Luckily, there are many ways to save money as a college student, you just have to prioritize and plan accordingly.

Now, when I say “plan accordingly,” I do not mean you need to have a chart, with dates, times, and a lot of money signs. I just mean plan on times you can afford to spend, and times you cannot. You must give yourself ultimatums. For example, do you really need those new shows from DSW or do you need that new text book your professor assigned for Biology. I think we know the right answer.

For some of you, this may be the first time you are handling your own money, with no rules. I know I get it; having a debit card with access to online shopping is DANGEROUS.
So with that being said, prioritizing goes hand and hand with the ultimatums. When you think you need retail therapy, maybe all you really need is a nap. When you think you want a new pair of jeans, remember that you only purchased your last pair a few months ago. It really does help when you just think.

Photo by therunningdoc.com

Photo by therunningdoc.com

Since I do not have all the answers, I use some resources online that really help me when I’m stuck for money.

“HowStuffWorks” is a fun website that has a lot of different things to offer, but has a great article on how to save money in college. “10 Tips For Saving Money in College” has a few examples, including where and how to buy textbooks, fun activities for free, and especially finding a job.

On campus jobs are crucial if you are the type of person that wants a little spending money. Usually campuses have a lot of diverse job opportunities, and all you have to do is apply. I know at my school, there is a job fair held at the beginning of each semester, where many on campus job have information and applications. My advice is to fill out as many as you can, so at the end, you will hopefully have a few different options.

Another website that get’s me through the tougher times is Pinterest. This website is very searchable and has many different topics to browse upon. One point of interest I have is the D.I.Y section, also known as “Do It Yourself.” D.I.Y has become apart of the American society, as many people utilize the new trend. D.I.Y is a very good option for many thing, especially for people on a budget. Things such as backpacks, to transforming an old t-shirt into the new fashion statement can be found on here, and a lot of the crafts do not require money at all and can be done with common household objects.

So when you are thinking about picking up the dollar bills, in exchange for an empty wallet, think of the different options you can choose from, and go down that path. I promise you, it feels a lot better than the new shirt you just bought. And when you are saving, always remember to Keep Calm and College On.

2 thoughts on “Saving Money One Step At A Time: College Style

  1. Awesome aggregation. Would love more “College budget” type stuff in the future. Perhaps whenever you find a college-related online bargain (Amazon, etc.) post it with a review?

  2. Pingback: Generous Stores Sharing Sales for Your College Wallet | Keep Calm and College On

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.